The Strathcona Cup

January 10 to February 3, 2018

 

rob
North Tour

Rob Findlay

 

 

 

Hi, I’m Rob Findlay from Qualicum Beach, British Columbia

I've been married to my wife Ruth for 43 years. I have 2 sons, Chad 40 and Tim 37, and one granddaughter, Piper, who is one year old.

A Retired Hi-Tech Sales Management/Sales Consultant with IBM (10 years) and Xerox (25 years)

I curl out of Qualicum & District Curling Club where I was on the Board of Directors as Director of Leagues and Bonspiels for several years. I was an organizer and volunteer for many fundraisers and provincial curling events held at the curling club. I also curl out of the Parksville Curling Club where I was League Captain for the senior men’s league for 5 years and co-chair for several men’s bonspiels. Volunteered at 2 Provincial men’s championships held at Parksville.

I was born and raised in Regina, Sask.. Through my work I was fortunate to have worked and lived all across Canada in Calgary, Kitchener-Waterloo, Owen Sound, Cambridge, Halifax and Vancouver. I moved to Qualicum Beach on Vancouver Island in 2009 when I retired. The common factor that allowed me to fit in every new community we moved to was curling and the fellowships I made at the 10 curling clubs I was a member.

I’m still active in competitive and club curling. In 2016 our team won the BC Provincial Masters Guy Philips championship for the PCMA. In 2015 we won the BC Provincial combined (Mcallister Trophy) for BC.  In 2011 we were runnerup  for Curl BC  Provincial Championships. In 1983 and 1984 I skipped a team that was 2nd runnerup in the NS provincial brier championship. In 1977 I skipped a team that won District 14A out of Owen Sound for the Ontario Provincial playdowns.

I had the pleasure of being on the organization committee and playing against the Scots when they played in Qualicum Beach in the 2013 tour.

I am a member of the Morningstar Golf Club in Parksville, Qualicum Beach Newcomers alumni association, and Horne Lake Cottage owners Association and Canadian Classic Chevelles & Beaumonts car club. I enjoy golfing, boating, fishing, gardening, antique cars, and travel.

Having never been to Scotland (Where my grandfather was born and raised in Dundee), I am very much looking forward to this tour.